Going Prep Route


(Photo courtesy of Scout.com)

Follow us on Twitter: @AlamoCityHoops1

The summer AAU circuit is usually the platform for many breakout performers. Some local and area talent have benefited from the scene, and one of them is Findlay Prep junior Tristan Clark. Findlay Prep, local? Well, no. The prep program is based out of Henderson, Nevada, just southeast of Las Vegas and over two weeks ago, the former Judson Rocket did surprise the local basketball community by announcing his decision to transfer to the nationally known prep program.

Standing 6’8″, Clark burst onto the scene as a sophomore for Coach Mike Wacker and the Rockets. His length and height were an immediate factor for Judson, as he would make an impact down low for the Rockets. His defensive game is ahead of his offensive skillset at this ponit, but he’s developed a nice array of low post moves, and is showing improvement.

Clark also elected to play this AAU season with Nike Pro Skills for the chance of more exposure and playing bigger and better competition. It’s worked thus far, as the exposure and his play have led to national scouts and publications taking notice, writing pieces on the former SA standout. Scout.com has rated him as a 3 Star prospect and the 14th best power forward in the nation for the ’17 class.

Now the offers are following too: Oregon, New Mexico, UNLV, Creighton, UTEP, Rice, and Incarnate Word have all extended already. With the Ducks being the first high major to offer, look for more to shortly follow.

We caught up with the big man and got the latest on his recruitment, his decision to leave Judson, and more.

What went into your decision in transferring into Findlay Prep?
I believe it’s a great opportunity for me and I can be more focused on my basketball and also on my academics because of the smaller class sizes.

Did you have any ties to Findlay Prep and when do you guys get started out there?
I don’t know when we start up and I don’t have any ties to Findlay Prep. Coach Johnson, the Head Coach, liked my game and attitude at the Peach Jam and we’ve stayed in contact since.

What was the reaction from your Judson teammates and Coach Wacker once you told them  you were transferring?
My mom invited him (Coach Wacker) over to talk aboiut it and his opinion, and he was cool. We’ll still be in contact. My teammates were shocked, but they want the best for me so they’re good with it.

With your offers starting to rack up, do you have any list of favorites or ranking the programs in any order?
I have no favorites at the moment and I’m keeping everything open for my recruitment

Do you see yourself staying out west at Findlay Prep for your senior year as well?
I have no clue for my senior year

Leave a Reply

